When New York authorities charge you with driving while intoxicated, there is quite a bit on the line if that charge ends up leading to a conviction. Even if it is your first time facing a drunk driving charge, you still stand to face jail time, considerable fines and the suspension of your driver’s license, among other penalties, if convicted. If convicted, you should also anticipate a hefty hike in the cost of your auto insurance premiums.
According to Bankrate, the typical New York driver who gets a first-time DWI conviction watches his or her annual insurance premiums increase by between 57% and 86%.
How much of an increase to expect
Insurance rates are high in New York even when you do not have a DWI conviction. If your driving history is like that of the average New York motorist, you probably paid about $2,321 per year for insurance coverage. Yet, after a first-time DWI, the typical New York motorist ends up paying about $4,307 per year to insure themselves behind the wheel.
How to find the lowest rate
Different insurance providers use different strategies to figure out what to charge customers. Some may also be more forgiving to drivers with drunk driving convictions than others. Thus, it often makes financial sense to get quotes from several providers after a DWI conviction to see which one offers you the most manageable rate.
A New York DWI stays on your record for years, so it makes sense to do your due diligence when it comes to finding an insurer to cover you after a DWI.