Quality Legal Representation Serving
The Chatham, New York, Area

Prepare to challenge the evidence in your aggravated DWI case

On Behalf of | May 27, 2022 | DUI/DWI

The state of New York has strict laws about driving while intoxicated (DWI) that can include heavy fines and jail time.

If law enforcement charges you with aggravated DWI, the penalties increase and include revocation of your driver’s license for up to a year. Are you prepared to challenge the evidence in your case?

About aggravated DWI

Anyone who is behind the wheel with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .18% or above may face a charge of aggravated DWI. Various tests such as breath, blood, urine or saliva can confirm the BAC level. A driver with a high BAC having a passenger younger than 15 in the vehicle may also face a charge of aggravated DWI. For a first offense, a convicted driver faces a maximum fine of $2,500, jail time of up to 12 months and the mandatory revocation of driving privileges for up to one year.

The IID requirement

If convicted of aggravated DWI, the court will order you to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in any vehicle you drive. Wired to your engine, the IID is about the size of a mobile phone and is basically a computer with a mouthpiece. You must blow into the mouthpiece and if the IID registers no alcohol on your breath, your vehicle will start.

Building a defense

A conviction for aggravated DWI can adversely affect your future in various ways, which is sufficient reason for challenging the charge against you. Your advocate can build a defense that will question the evidence, including test results, and the possibility of administrative errors during your arrest. You have rights to protect, and you want the best outcome possible for your case.